You need to log in to create posts and topics.

Distinguished Service and Kyle Bean Awards 2019 - Committees & Nominations


If you are interested in applying to serve on the committees that respectively select the Distinguished Service Award and the Kyle Bean Award, fill out this form by 11:59 pm on Tuesday, April 9th. The DS Award Committee will be chaired by Jasper Primack, and the Kyle Bean Award Committee will be chaired by Max Neuman.

The Distinguished Service Award is awarded "in order to recognize and honor individuals who have delivered outstanding contributions to APDA, parliamentary debate, or the facilitation of public discourse. These contributions may be of any nature, but must be characterized by devotion to APDA and/or its ideals above and beyond that expected of an individual in the position of the honoree."

The Kyle Bean Award "shall not be based on competitive success, but will be awarded to an individual who has made the league a better place by debating for the enjoyment of the activity, rather than competitive success.”

Both current members of APDA and Dinos are welcome to apply. You may apply to both committees, but please note your preferred committee if you do so. A name is sufficient for consideration, though a few sentences on your qualifications are also welcome.

The committees will meet electronically to discuss nominees for their respective awards, and the winners will be announced at Nationals.



Use the following forms to nominate current or former members of APDA for the Distinguished Service and Kyle Bean Awards. Nominations are due by 11:59 pm on Wednesday, April 10.

APDA President (2018-19) | MAL (2017-18)

The committees will be as follows:

Distinguished Service Award Selection Committee

Chair: Jasper Primack (VP for Operations)

Andrew Hamilton

Malik Jarvis

Shruti Baxi


Kyle Bean Award Selection Committee

Chair: Max Neuman (VP for Finance)

Tejal Patwardhan

Jake Miller

Will Donnelly


Committees must inform the Executive Board of their selection(s) no later than 11:59 pm EST on April 19, 2019. Committees may select more than one winner for each award.

APDA President (2018-19) | MAL (2017-18)